top of page
  • McMahon & Hill

Bourbon Lane Partner Rick Gold to Receive TOC Chairman’s Award

We are thrilled to announce that one of Bourbon Lane Stable's original partners, Rick Gold, is being honored with a prestigious award. Rick, who was a part of our early success with Bourbon Courage, has been selected by the Thoroughbred Owners of California (TOC) as the 2024 recipient of the Ed Friendly Industry Service Award, also known as the TOC Chairman’s Award.

This accolade is presented annually to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Thoroughbred racing industry. Rick joins an illustrious list of past recipients, including Mace Siegel, John Harris, Bob and Beverly Lewis, Jerry and Ann Moss, and Mike Pegram.

Rick is retiring this year after eight years of exceptional service to the TOC and other industry boards. His dedication, particularly as Chairman of TOC’s Integrity & Safety Committee, has been instrumental in advancing the welfare and integrity of horse racing. His efforts were crucial in protecting California and industry interests during the formation of the Horseracing Integrity and Safety Authority (HISA).

In addition to his administrative roles, Rick is a passionate and modern-day owner with significant investments in both California and Australia. Known for his collaborative approach, he often co-owns horses and supports smaller trainers and the broader racing community. Among his notable achievements are campaigning horses like Hit The Road, the Grade 1 winner of the 2021 Frank E. Kilroe Mile, and Athabascan, a recent contender in the Grade 1 Sydney Cup and a promising prospect for this year’s Melbourne Cup.

TOC Chairman Gary Fenton remarked, “When I reflect on the distinguished individuals who have received this award in the past, I believe Rick belongs among their ranks. His unwavering dedication, leadership, and compassion exemplify the spirit of the Chairman's Award and embody the best of California racing.”

Rick Gold will be honored at the TOC’s Southern California Annual Meeting at Del Mar on August 10. Please join us in celebrating this well-deserved recognition of his contributions to the sport we all love.

31 views0 comments


bottom of page